The new rig

With the upcoming release of Star Wars: The Old Republic (SWTOR), I went ahead and built a new gaming box.  It had been a few years since the last one I built when I was multi-boxing Warcraft.  I also did two upgrades on my old box so my wife would have a better experience with SWTOR as well when she plays.

So, what did I get?

Case

Cooler Master – HAF 932

CPU

i7 – 2600k

CPU Fan

Noctua NH-D14

Power Supply

Corsair 850AX

Motherboard

Asus P8Z68-V Pro – Z68 LGA1155 R

Memory

G.Skill 8GB BXL

Video Card

Asus ENGTX570 – Nvidia 570

HDD

OCZ VTX3 120GB SSD

HDD 2

WD 1GB SATA

DVD

Lite-On Blu-Ray

Mouse

Razer Naga Molten

Keyboard

Microsoft Sidewinder x6

WP_000051

WP_000052

The pic above, is really to show the CPU Fan.  That thing was huge.  The fan in the middle of the heat sink is a 120mm fan.  It actually expands over the memory bay.

The rig has played the latest games pretty well – Battlefield 3, Skyrim, Batman AC and the SWTOR Beta.

Just about one more week to go until Early Access begins.

One thought on “The new rig

  1. Pingback: Getting “Work At Home” working for me | Just a guy in a cube

Comments are closed.