On COSMOS and my beliefs

I love science!  I love technology!  I love space!  Can I love Jesus also?  Most definitely yes! 

I just got done watching the premier of COSMOS on FOX.  Leading up to the premier, I read a lot of comments from folks bringing up God and science.  Some of the folks I know are not believers.  And even listening to comments from Niel deGrasse Tyson, outside of COSMOS, you get a certain impression. 

I didn’t know what to expect going into the show.  Although I can say I thoroughly enjoyed it.  I thought they presented it in a very tasteful way that didn’t seek to bash ones own views.  They did a great job of presenting facts of early astronomers and the persecution they went through from the Church.  I don’t doubt those facts.  They did happen.  There was a lot of ignorance in those time.  There is also a lot of ignorance in our time.  I’ve listened to folks on the Church side of the equation, and I cringe when I listen to them. 

While I do believe in Jesus, I still am on a journey of understanding God’s picture.  I’ve learned a lot in the last two-three years.  I try to square things between science and faith, and have come to the understanding that they don’t have oppose one another. 

A lot of people will argue that God can’t be real because we know that, ignoring the universe as it is, earth took more than 7 days to form.  I think the trap is when people try to read the bible as a literal work.  The Bible is filled with parables and illustrations to help paint God’s portrait.  We have the Book of God as well as the Book of Nature.  When I look at science and the discoveries we find, I don’t sit there and think that these disprove my faith.  Rather I look at them and see how they enhance my faith.  I also respect those that feel differently.  And I appreciate when they respect my personal view, which for the most part they have.  Usually it ends up being a great discussion, and we end on that we agree to disagree.  At the end of it, I will believe what I believe.  I can’t un-see the things that I’ve seen and experienced.  Or that I can see God’s fingerprints on my life in many ways.  It is personal for me.  But, that also doesn’t mean that I close my mind.  Although, sadly, there are those that do. 

One of the things I took away from watching COSMOS was that, while we have facts about a great many things, there are still items out there that are more theory than fact.  I thought Neil did a good job of pointing those out.  And I have to think about that. The really big items are theories.  I count Evolution as one of those.  I’m not a believer in evolution.  I think there are too many unanswered questions from the science side of the house.  And, I know a lot of people I know will roll their eyes and probably even scoff me on this point, I have to point back to the Cambrian Explosion. Even Charles Darwin pointed it out as one of the main objections that could be made against his theory. And, Darwin said the following:  “The distinctiveness of specific forms, and their not being blended together by innumerable transitional links—is a very obvious difficulty.”

The biggest thing I struggle with is how something comes from nothing.  The Big Bang theory is predicated on that.  If there is nothing, then how can something come of that without help?  I have yet to see science answer that one.  Again folks have theories about the Big Bang and the origins, but they can’t answer how something came from nothing. I don’t necessarily disagree that the Big Bang may have happened and allowed for the expansion of the universe, but again, how did it begin?  Maybe someday we will know even more than we do today, but for now it is theory.  Mind you, theory based in some pretty substantial fact, except for the something from nothing part. 

When I look at science, I see it as a way for me to get closer to God.  To learn more about his awesome ability to create complex things that blow our minds.

I love science!  I love technology!  I love space!  And, I love Jesus!

One thought on “On COSMOS and my beliefs

  1. I think I see what you are saying. Science can tell us, for instance, that the planets revolve around the Sun. It can tell us a ton of details about orbits and light-years, etc. which is true, but that is simply studying how God put it all together…because, as you said, we don’t know how it all started. That is attributable to God. Would like to tune into that COSMO show.

Comments are closed.